Home Editor's pick Leader and Cabinet confirmed at Council’s Annual Meeting
Council meeting

Leader and Cabinet confirmed at Council’s Annual Meeting

by Gemma Melling

Knowsley Council held its Annual Meeting this afternoon (Friday, 17 May 2024).

Councillors re-elected Cllr Graham Morgan as Leader of the Council, with Cllr Tony Brennan as Deputy Leader.

They also voted for Cllr Ken McGlashan as the Mayor of Knowsley for the municipal year 2024/2025.

The council’s Cabinet was also confirmed today, and councillors were appointed to various committees and advisory and working groups.

Knowsley Council’s Cabinet were confirmed as follows:

  • Leader of Knowsley Council – Cllr Graham Morgan
  • Cabinet Member for Children’s Services – Cllr David Lonergan
  • Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care – Cllr Del Arnall
  • Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Economic Development – Cllr Tony Brennan
  • Cabinet Member for Health – Cllr Christine Bannon
  • Cabinet Member for Resources – Cllr Jayne Lonergan (née Aston).
  • Cabinet Member for Communities and Neighbourhoods – Cllr Shelley Powell

Cllr Graham Morgan said: “It continues to be a huge honour and a privilege to lead this Council. Since I became Leader in 2018, so much has changed, and we have faced unexpected challenges including the pandemic and cost of living crisis, which have been some of the toughest our borough has ever faced.

“Throughout it all, we have stayed focused on what’s important – helping our communities to thrive and being ambitious for a prosperous future.

“Our focus is on continuing this good work; supporting our residents and investing in our borough.”